A NSW Government website
Assessment Certification Examination (ACE)
NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA)

Requirements for the award of the Record of School Achievement

ACE 4001

Last Updated: 29 March 2019

Eligibility requirements for the Record of School Achievement (RoSA) are set out in section 94 of the Education Act 1990 (NSW).

School attendance, curriculum requirements

In summary, to qualify for the award of a RoSA, a student must have:

  • attended a government school, an accredited non-government school or a recognised school outside New South Wales;
  • undertaken and completed courses of study that satisfy NESA's curriculum and assessment requirements for the RoSA;
  • complied with any other regulations or requirements (such as attendance) imposed by the Minister or NESA; and
  • completed Year 10.


Students must be warned if they are in danger of not satisfactorily completing mandatory requirements. This warning must be given by principals in enough time for students to meet the requirements. If a student does not meet all mandatory requirements by the end of Year 10, then the student will not be eligible for the award of a RoSA in that year. The student may receive a Transcript of Study showing all grades awarded, including ‘N’ determinations for mandatory courses studied in Stage 5.