A NSW Government website
Assessment Certification Examination (ACE)
NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA)

Higher School Certificate examinations: requirements

ACE 9015

Last Updated: 28 June 2017

In the following courses students are required to complete a practical component as part of the Higher School Certificate examination:

  • Dance
  • Design and Technology
  • Drama
  • English Extension 2
  • Industrial Technology
  • all modern languages (except Languages and Literature courses)
  • Music
  • Society and Culture
  • Textiles and Design 
  • Visual Arts

No projects or parts of projects developed for any of these courses may be submitted for assessment or examination in any other HSC course.

See Related Topics for current exclusions.