Entry requirements for Stage 6 Languages courses where eligibility criteria apply

ACE 8008

Last Updated: 29 October 2020

Eligibility criteria apply to the following Year 11 and Year 12 courses:

  • [Language*] Beginners
  • [Language] Continuers where a [Language] in Context and/or a [Language] and Literature course exists
  • [Language] in Context courses where a [Language] and Literature course exists

Eligibility criteria DO NOT apply to the following Year 11 and Year 12 courses:

  • Any Languages course which is the highest proficiency level available
  • Extension (these courses may only be studied concurrently with, or after completing, the HSC 2-unit [Language] Continuers course in the same language)

* insert relevant language, eg Chinese

The HSC Languages Eligibility Criteria are set out in a common framework that describes course levels and target candidatures, and the continuum of language learning.

To be eligible for these courses, students are required to meet all of the course eligibility criteria at the time of entry to the course.

For the purpose of determining course eligibility:

  • speakers of dialects and variants of a language are considered to be speakers of the standard language
  • speakers of Indonesian and speakers of Malay are considered to be speakers of both languages
  • formal education is ‘education that is institutionalised, intentional and planned through public organizations and recognised private bodies, and -- in their totality -- constitute the formal education system of a country.' (UNESCO Institute of Statistics, International Standard Classification of Education, 2011, para 36).

Eligibility is determined by the principal of the school delivering the course.

The authority to determine eligibility is delegated to principals by NESA.

Documentary evidence supporting the principal’s determination must be retained by the school until the student completes the HSC language course.